Students’ Union Awards

Inspiring students & staff recognised at University of Wolverhampton Students’ Union awards evening.



The annual Students’ Union Awards at the University celebrated a fantastic evening of success, recognizing the outstanding achievements of our students and staff. Held at Molineux Stadium, the event featured 20 categories celebrating the positive impact of individuals and organizations throughout the university community.

Students' Union CEO, Nirmla Devi noted, “We love to pay tribute to the wonderful people students encounter on placement. Often, this is their first taste of their chosen career, so meeting teams and individuals who support and inspire them is incredibly special.”

Here is a round-up of the categories, the shortlisted candidates, and the winners:

  1. Pastoral Care Award

    • Rebecca Higgins - Award Winner
    • Martin Evans
    • Gwen Morris
  2. Faculty of Education, Health and Wellbeing Lecturer of the Year

    • Kasim Bashir Raja - Award Winner
    • Kay Lane
    • Laura Nicklin
  3. Faculty of Arts, Business and Social Sciences Lecturer of the Year

    • Joshua Pal - Award Winner
    • Imran Maqbool Khan
    • Lynn Ellison
  4. Faculty of Science and Engineering Lecturer of the Year

    • Suresh Renukappa - Award Winner
    • Liam Naughton
    • Dr Mark Hewitt
  5. School Rep of the Year

    • Francis Blincoe - Award Winner
    • Charlotte Webb
    • Rebecca Ademola
  6. FEHW Course Rep of the Year

    • Charleen Lees - Award Winner
    • Laura Richardson
    • Fathima Minsa Mohamed Aquill
  7. FABBs Course Rep of the Year

    • Sarah Bremer - Award Winner
    • Adedoyin Ileyemi
    • Francis Blincoe
  8. FSE Course Rep of the Year

    • Akachukwu Joseph Okeke - Award Winner
    • Olalekan Babalola
    • Daniel Oyedele
  9. Student Staff Member of the Year

    • Adedyin Ileyemi - Award Winner
    • Megan Powell
    • Liam Scott
  10. The Ayokunle Falana Award

    • Bisola Olatunji - Award Winner
    • Aiwanseosa Isreal Omo-Imade
    • Meena Chand
  11. Championing Diversity at the University Student Award

    • Star Wilkes - Award Winner
    • Suresh Renukappa
    • Kate Faulkner
  12. Teaching Excellence Award

    • Peter Collins - Award Winner
    • Dave Brown
    • Dr Zeeneh Elsaid
  13. Doctoral Research Excellence Award

    • Ifemu Omari - Award Winner
    • Swee Yee Shea
  14. Dissertation Supervisor of the Year

    • Oluwajuwonlo Olajide - Award Winner
    • Louise Curry
    • Christopher Cockshott
  15. Dr Nicholas Misgrove Award for Academic Support Staff

    • Manpreet Kaur Brar - Award Winner
    • Tanya Mpofu
    • Jane Woolf
  16. Placement Provider of the Year

    • Community Learning Disability Team Staffordshire/Shropshire - Award Winner
    • YMCA Black Country
    • Sabahat Mirza
    • Criminal Justice Team, Black Country Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  17. Outstanding Contribution to the Student Placement Experience

    • Sarah Mapp - Award Winner
    • Loretta Mason
    • Jade Brady
    • Michael Brady
  18. Society of the Year

    • British Computer Society - Award Winners
    • Navigators Christian Society
    • Doctoral Research Society
  19. Society Event of the Year

    • Nepalese New Year
    • Langar on Campus - Award Winners
  20. Esther Opemipo Shonibare Student Award for Championing Diversity?
    • Sam McCracken

Congratulations to everyone who nominated someone, to all shortlisted candidates, and to the winners on the night.